Solid Press-Fit Technology

Press-fit technology is a favorable alternative to conventional soldering on printed circuit board applications

With press-fit technology, a connection is established between the plated-through sleeve of a circuit board and the contact pin of, for example, a plug connector. This creates a powerful, gas-tight electrical connection.

The electrical transfer resistance plays a crucial role in the quality of this connection. The higher the electrical transfer resistance is, the worse the connection is on the basis that a resistance generates a voltage drop and, by extension, heat, which is primarily a problem with the transfer of higher electric currents.

Minimum connection of a pin compared to the real press-fit zone

In order to limit electrical transfer resistance, the electric current of one of the entry faces into the connection zone must have at least comparable exit faces (exit faces ≥ entry faces) – irrespective the correct selection of materials.

The fulfilment of this condition ensures that there is no bottleneck. To ensure that this condition is fulfilled with a typical press-fit connection and a functional electrical connection is established, the connection angle of a corner of the contact pin must typically measure at least 3°. As the image clearly illustrates, the real press-fit connection possesses many reserves. This explains why the press-fit connection functions so well.

Consequently, solid press-fit technology is most notably suitable for high-current applications and for the use under adverse environmental conditions. The reasons for that are:

  • Excellent electrical characteristics
  • Lower impact of the PCB‘s PTH barrel on the press-fit zone
  • Excellent mechanical properties of solid press-fit zone

Massive Einpresstechnik

Als Verbindungstechnologie ist die massive Einpresstechnik eine vorteilhafte Alternative zur reinen Löttechnik

Bei der Einpresstechnologie wird eine Verbindung zwischen der durchkontaktierten Hülse einer Leiterplatte und dem Kontaktstift, z.B. eines Steckverbinders, hergestellt. Dabei entsteht eine leistungsfähige, gasdichte elektrische Verbindung.

Entscheidend für die Qualität dieser Verbindung ist der elektrische Übergangswiderstand. Je höher er ist, desto schlechter ist die Verbindung, denn ein Widerstand erzeugt einen Spannungsabfall und damit Wärme, was v.a. bei der Übertragung höherer Ströme problematisch ist.

Mindestanbindung eines Pins im Vergleich zu realen Einpresszone

Um den Übergangswiderstand gering zu halten, muss – abgesehen von der richtigen Auswahl der Materialien - der Strom eine der Eintrittsfläche in die Verbindungszone mindestens vergleichbare Austrittsfläche haben (Austrittsfläche ≥ Eintrittsfläche). Ist diese Bedingung erfüllt, entsteht kein Engpass.

Damit diese Bedingung bei einer typischen Einpressverbindung erfüllt und somit eine funktionsfähige elektrische Verbindung hergestellt ist, muss der Anbindungswinkel einer Ecke des Kontaktstiftes typischerweise mindestens 3° betragen. Wie das Bild deutlich zeigt, verfügt die reale Einpressverbindung über sehr viele Reserven. Das ist der Grund dafür, warum die Einpressverbindungen so gut funktionieren.

Damit eignet sich die massive Einpresstechnik vor allem für den Einsatz im Hochstrombereich und bei rauen Umgebungsbedingungen. Dies hat folgende Hintergründe:

  • Hervorragende elektrische Eigenschaften
  • Geringer Einfluss der Leiterplattenhülse auf die Einpresszone
  • Ausgezeichnete mechanische Eigenschaften massiver Einpresszonen