UL identification

What is UL?

UL is an American organisation with a recognised identification system, over the years, they have developed numerous safety standards and testing procedures. UL standards are very comprehensive and cover a wide range of risks; these are based on the field of application, the materials used and the manufacturing and assembly processes. For electrical appliances, the main focus is to ensure fire protection and electrical safety.

Your requirements:

Which UL parameters must the device comply with? Which appliance class does your product belong to and which higher-level UL standards are applicable? Which information in the UL certification documentation (“Section General” or in the “description” for critical components) define the necessary UL requirements?

Our solutions:

UL and flex-rigid – our strengths: We have 4 UL models listed for flex-rigid PCB´s!

We are happy to help you find out which model best suits your application based on your specific requirements. Get in touch with our UL specialists immediately!


Combustibility according to UL94 Standard: We satisfy the very highest UL specification “UL94 V-1 or better”!

Tracking resistance

Comparative Tracking Index (CTI; ASTM D3638 ) – are there any requirements regarding tracking resistance? We offer flex-rigid solutions for a CTI range-tracking index of 250 – 400V (PLC 2).

Maximum operating temperature (MOT)

Maximum operating temperature (MOT): We have successfully passed the tests for MOT120 in accordance with UL796F.

Based on the UL testing method, the MOT value gives an indication of up to which temperature a type of circuit board with a defined, cohesive copper surface will exhibit

  • no signs of delamination.
  • copper adhesion, albeit very low levels, of 0.175N7mm demonstrated after the 56 day test.
  • at least 50% of original mechanical and electrical properties still exhibited.

In this process, neither the period of use nor the load cycle are defined (mission profile), it also does not account for thermo-mechanic material properties or heat generation caused by leakage of thermal power. This is why we generally advise against using this UL MOT value as the maximum continuous operation temperature when using the application. Because although, for example, according to IPC4101/21 standard FR4 only has a minimum of 110°C for one day, it is still certified as UL-MOT 130 by UL standards! It can only be hoped that no one ever comes up with the idea of making a device with a continuous operating temperature of 130°C and giving it an FR4 standard!

Operating conditions under mains voltage (DSR)

Direct support of current-carrying parts: Our UL models satisfy the direct support requirements (DSR) in accordance with UL746A.

The UL testing process

The UL 94 flammability test

The flammability of polymer materials is tested according to Underwriters Laboratories standard UL 94 (among others), whereby a classification of flammability is undertaken.

The best-known classifications are HB, V-2, V-1 and V-0.

UL 94 V 0 (Vertical Burning Test)

In this test, a standardised flame from a methane gas burner of 20mm length is held 10s long at the lower end of a vertically clamped specimen. After extinguishing the flame the procedure is repeated for a further 10s. This is carried out on 5 specimens. The times of burning and glowing are noted and summed together. It is also recorded whether drops fall from the specimen and whether the cotton mounted beneath the specimen ignites.
The UL 94 V classifications range from V-2 to best classification V-0. If a specimen fails to meet the requirements, 5 additional samples are tested. The V-0 classification requires that the cotton does not ignite through glowing or burning drops.

Marking of pcbs is available according to UL-94.

UL-Kennung

Was ist UL?

UL ist eine amerikanische Organisation mit dem bekannten Kennzeichnungssystem, welches im Laufe der Zeit sehr viele Sicherheitsstandards und Prüfverfahren hervorgebracht hat. Die UL Standards sind sehr umfangreich und betrachten verschiedene Risiken, basierend auf dem Einsatzbereich, den verwendeten Materialien und den Herstellungs- und Verarbeitungsprozessen. Für elektrische Geräte ist der Zweck hauptsächlich die Sicherstellung das Brandschutzes und der elektrischen Sicherheit.

Ihre Anforderungen:

Welche UL-Parameter muss die Baugruppe erfüllen? Zu welcher Geräteklasse gehört Ihr Produkt und welcher übergeordnete UL Standard ist dafür relevant? Welche Hinweise in der UL Zertifizierungsdokumentation ("Section General" oder als critical Component in der "descripton") definieren die notwendigen UL Anforderungen?

Unsere Lösungen:

UL bei Starrflex - unsere Stärke: Für Starrflex haben wir 4 UL-Typen gelistet!!

Welche dieser Typen zu Ihren Anwendungen passt, prüfen wir gerne auf der Grundlage Ihrer Anforderungen. Kontaktieren Sie doch am besten gleichen unseren UL-Spezialisten!

Brennbarkeit

Brennbarkeit nach UL94 Standard: Wir erfüllen die höchste UL-Forderung „UL94 V-1 or better“!

Kriechstromfestigkeit

Comparative Tracking Index (CTI; ASTM D3638 ) – gibt es Forderungen bezüglich Kriechstromfestigkeit? Wir bieten starrflexible Lösungen bis zu CTI Range-tracking Index 250 – 400V (PLC 2)

Max. Einsatz-Temperatur (MOT)

Maximum Operating Temperature (MOT): Wir haben die Tests nach UL796F für MOT120 bestanden.

Der MOT-Wert nach UL gibt aufgrund der Testmethode eine Orientierung, bis zu welcher Temperatur eine Leiterplattentype mit einer definierten, zusammenhängenden Kupferfläche

  • keine Delaminationen aufweist.
  • noch eine, wenn auch sehr geringe Kupferhaftung von 0,175N7mm nach dem 56-Tagestest aufweist.
  • noch mindestens 50% der ursprünglichen mechanischen und dielektrischen Eigenschaften aufweist.

Dabei ist weder eine Einsatzdauer oder ein Belastungsverlauf definiert (mission profile) noch thermomechanische Materialeigenschaften oder eine Erwärmung durch Verlustleistung der Bauteile berücksichtigt. Deshalb raten wir grundsätzlich davon ab, diesen UL-MOT-Wert als maximale Dauereinsatztemperatur für die Applikation zu verwenden. Denn obwohl z:B. Standard FR4 nach IPC4101/21 nur einen Tg von 110°C minimum hat, wird dafür von UL ein UL-MOT 130 attestiert! Man kann also nur hoffen, dass niemand auf die Idee kommt und für ein Gerät mit einer Dauergebrauchstemperatur von 130°C dieses Standard FR4 einsetzt!

Einsatzbedingungen unter Netzspannung (DSR)

Direct Support of Current-carrying Parts: Unsere UL Typen erfüllen die Direct Support Requirements (DSR) nach UL746A.

Die UL Testverfahren

Die Brennbarkeitsprüfung nach UL 94

Die Brennbarkeit von polymeren Werkstoffen wird – unter anderem – nach Underwriter's Laboratories Standard UL 94 geprüft, wobei eine Klassifizierung der Brennbarkeit vorgenommen wird.

Am bekanntesten sind die Klassen HB, V-2, V-1 und V-0.

UL 94 V 0 (Vertical Burning Test)

Bei dieser Prüfung wird eine 20mm lange Normflamme eines Methangasbrenners 10s lang an das untere Ende eines vertikal eingespannten Prüfkörpers gehalten. Nach Verlöschen der Flamme wird der Vorgang für weitere 10s wiederholt. Dies wird an 5 Prüfkörpern durchgeführt. Die Brenn- und Glühzeiten werden notiert und die Summe daraus gebildet. Weiter wird festgehalten, ob vom Prüfkörper Tropfen abfallen und ob sich dabei die Watte, die unterhalb des Prüfkörpers angebracht ist, entzündet.
 
Die Einstufungen nach UL 94 V reichen von V-2 bis zur besten Klasse V-0. Erfüllt ein Prüfkörper die Anforderungen nicht, werden 5 weitere Proben getestet. Für eine Einstufung nach V-0 darf die Watte nicht durch glühende oder brennende Tropfen entzündet werden.

Die Kennzeichnung gemäß UL bezieht sich ausschließlich auf die Brennbarkeitsklasse.