Effective thermal management

The goal of optimal thermal management is to avoid critical temperatures inside components and assemblies. The component elements must be operated within the prescribed temperature range.

In thermal management, the printed circuit board takes on an important role. It is necessary to already start thinking about suitable measures to dissipate heat in the design and development phase. In general, it is much more expensive to implement modifications and adaptations at a later point in time. There are a number of different possible ways to design systems for the heat dissipation of assemblies. They always have to be individually executed and they have to be adapted to the different requirements of the component assembly:

  • Quantity of heat that needs to be dissipated
  • Available space/dimensions of the components
  • Type of component contacts

It is possible to see similarities between electrotechnology and thermal engineering when considering thermal management. Thus voltage and temperature differences, electrical power and heat flow as well as electrical resistance and thermal resistance are certainly comparable. This is represented in the following formula:

Among other things, thermal resistance (Rth) is a function of the thickness (d), of the mediums used as well as the thermal conductivity of the material (λ) and the surface area available for heat conduction (A).

Three types of heat transfer

In electronic systems the heat produced is primarily dissipated in one of three ways: radiation, convection and conduction.

The design of the printed circuit boards has a great influence on the thermal conduction. The goal is to create the best possible thermal path with good heat conduction to the heatsink. The size of the surface area plays a positive role here.

In practice, early planning of heat dissipation technologies into the design of the printed circuit board and the component assembly has proved effective for thermal management. On the one hand, this should optimise the effectiveness and price of constructing the printed circuit board. On the other hand, it will prevent the need to make subsequent extensive modifications to the design.

Grundlagen

Wärmemanagement mit Wirkung

Ziel eines optimalen Wärmemanagements ist das Vermeiden von kritischen Temperaturen inmitten von Bauteilen und Baugruppen. Die Bauelemente müssen innerhalb ihrer vorgeschriebenen Temperaturbereiche betrieben werden können.

Der Leiterplatte kommt beim Wärmemanagement dabei eine besonders wichtige Bedeutung zu. Bereits in der Konstruktions- und Entwicklungsphase muss über geeignete Maßnahmen zur Wärmeableitung nachgedacht werden. Spätere Änderungen und Adaptionen wirken sich in der Regel kostspielig aus. Für die Konstruktionen zur Entwärmung von Bauelementen stehen unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung. Sie müssen immer individuell ausgeführt werden und sie müssen sich nach den unterschiedlichen Anforderungen der Baugruppe richten:

  • Menge der abzuführenden Wärme
  • Verfügbarer Platz/Abmessung der Bauteile
  • Kontaktierungsart der Bauelemente

Bei der Betrachtung des thermischen Managements kann man Analogien zwischen Elektrotechnik und Wärmetechnik erkennen. So sind Spannung und Temperaturdifferenz, elektrischer Strom und Wärmestrom sowie elektrischer Widerstand und Wärmewiderstand durchaus vergleichbar. Dies ist in der folgenden Formel dargestellt:

Der Wärmewiderstand (Rth) ist unter anderem eine Funktion der Dicke (d), des beteiligten Mediums sowie der Wärmeleitfähigkeit des Stoffes (λ) und der für die Wärmeleitung zur Verfügung stehenden Fläche (A).

Die drei Arten der Wärmeübertragung

Bei elektronischen Systemen wird die entstehende Wärme in erster Linie über drei Wege abtransportiert: Strahlung, Konvektion (Wärmeübertragung)und Konduktion (Wärmeleitung).

Auf die Konduktion nimmt die Konstruktion der Leiterplatte den größten Einfluss. Ziel ist es, von der Wärmequelle einen möglichst guten thermischen Pfad mit guter Wärmeleitung zur Wärmesenke zu schaffen. Dabei wirkt sich die Größe der Oberfläche positiv aus.

Für das thermische Management hat sich in der Praxis das frühzeitige Einplanen von Entwärmungstechniken in die Konstruktion der Leiterplatte und der Baugruppe bewährt. Dadurch soll zum einen der Leiterplattenaufbau bezüglich Effektivität und Preis optimiert werden. Zum anderen soll eine aufwendige nachträgliche Designänderung vermieden werden.